Author Archives: huzonfirst

Love Meaty Games? Check Out the Jogo do Ano Nominees!

The Spiel Portugal game group has just announced its five nominees for its Jogo do Ano (Game of the Year) award.  As opposed to most of the major game awards, which have been trending toward lighter and more accessible games … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged | 2 Comments

International Gamers Awards 2021 Nominations Announced

The International Gamers Awards, which has been selecting their Games of the Year for over 20 years, has announced their nominations for their 2021 awards.  For this year only, an expanded period of eligibility was used, due to the effects … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | Tagged | Leave a comment

2020 Designer of the Year

You don’t need me to tell you how difficult a year 2020 was for most of us.  In addition to the health and financial issues so many had to deal with, it also affected our day to day activities in … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | 2 Comments

Gaming Timeline: 1965-1969

We continue with our look at gaming in the sixties.  Gimmicky and beer-and-pretzel games dominate the half decade, but we also have the birth of a major gaming craze, as well as the publication of perhaps the greatest book of … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | 3 Comments

MicroMacro, Arnak, and Gloomhaven Jaws are Golden Geek’s 2020 Games of the Year

BoardGameGeek has announced the winners of the 2020 Golden Geeks. For the first time, there are three Game of the Year winners–one each for Light, Medium, and Heavy games. Here are the winners and the two runner ups in each … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | 1 Comment

Gaming Timeline: 1960-1964

The sixties were a turbulent decade.  Bob Dylan wrote, “The times, they are a-changin’”, and that they were.  Music, clothing, politics, forms of protest, technology…all of them different, some with changes that stuck, some that didn’t, and some with battles … Continue reading

Posted in Reviews | 3 Comments