International Gamers Awards: 2012 Nominees Announced

The annual International Gamers Awards have just released their list of nominated games for 2012!

These awards were created to recognize outstanding games and designers, as well as the companies that publish them.  The awards are truly international in scope, with committee members representing countries throughout the world.  As such, it is our belief that these awards will truly select the ‘best of the best’ and come to be respected by not only hobbyists, but the general public at large.  We hope that this will lead to greater exposure for these wonderful games to more and more people and help spread the word of the “wonderful world of gaming” on a global scale.

[The Opinionated Gamers are a big supporter of the IGAs – the award was created by Greg Schloesser, one of the OG writers.  Additonally, 4 other OG members sit on the jury: Larry Levy, W. Eric Martin, Mike Siggins, and Andrea Ligabue.]

GENERAL STRATEGY GAMES – Multi Player category

Dungeon Petz
Designer:  Vlaada Chvatil
Publisher:  Czech Games Edition

Designer:  Touko Tahkokallio
Publishers: / Asmodee

Designer:  Greg Daigle
Publisher:  Hans im Glück / Rio Grande Games

Designer:  Matthias Cramer
Publisher:  Kosmos

Kingdom Builder
Designer:  Donald X. Vaccarino
Publisher:  Queen Games

Last Will
Designer:  Vladimir Suchy
Publishers:  Czech Games Edition / Rio Grande Games

Mage Knight: Board Game
Designer:  Vlaada Chvatil
Publisher:  Wiz Kids

Ora et Labora
Designer:  Uwe Rosenberg
Publishers:  Lookout Games / Z-Man Games

Designer:  Ignacy Trzewiczek
Publisher:  Portal Publishing

Risk Legacy
Designers:  Rob Daviau & Chris Dupuis
Publisher:  Hasbro

Designer:  Stefan Feld
Publisher:  Ammonit

Designers:  Inka & Markus Brand
Publisher:  Eggertspiele

GENERAL STRATEGY GAMES – 2 Player category

Agricola:  All Creatures Big and Small
Designer:  Uwe Rosenberg
Publishers:  Lookout Games / Z-Man Games

Star Trek Fleet Captains
Designers:  Mike Elliot, Bryan Kinsella & Ethan Pasternack
Publisher:  Wiz Kids

Summoner Wars: Master Set
Designer:  Colby Dauch
Publisher:  Plaid Hat Games

Designer:  Andreas Steiger
Publisher:  Kosmos

For more infomation, please go to the website for the IGAs:

About Dale Yu

Dale Yu is the Editor of the Opinionated Gamers. He can occasionally be found working as a volunteer administrator for BoardGameGeek, and he previously wrote for BoardGame News.
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to International Gamers Awards: 2012 Nominees Announced

  1. Larry Levy says:

    I, Larry Levy, am honored to serve on the IGA jury. However, despite what Dale mistakenly indicated above, I am not so honored that I am allowed to vote twice! The OG jury member that should have been listed instead of my duplicate one is Mike Siggins, who I believe has been on the jury since the awards were begun back in 2000.

  2. Dale Yu says:

    Larry – yeah, one of you is more than enough. I have fixed the list and put Mr. SIggins back in his rightful place.

Leave a Reply