The International Gamers Awards committee is extremely proud to announce the finalists for the 2016 IGA in the General Strategy category.  Games released from July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016 are eligible for consideration.

This complete list of this year’s nominees includes:

GENERAL STRATEGY GAMES – Multi Player category

Blood Rage

Designers:  Eric M. Lang

Publishers:  Guillotine Games / Cool Mini or Not



Designer:  Vlaada Chvatil

Publishers:  Czech Games Edition


Food Chain Magnate

Designers:  Jeroen Doumen

Publishers:  Splotter Spellen


Grand Austria Hotel

Designer:  Virginio Gigli & Simone Luciani

Publisher:  Lookout Games


Isle of Skye

Designers:  Andreas Pelikan & Alexander Pfister

Publishers:  Lookout Games



Designer:  Alexander Pfister

Publisher:  Eggertspiele



Designers:  Nuno Bizarro Sentieiro & Paulo Soledade

Publishers:  What’s Your Game?


Pandemic Legacy

Designers:  Rob Daviau & Matt Leacock

Publishers: Z-Man Games



Designers: Francois Gandon

Publishers: Days of Wonder


T.I.M.E Stories

Designer:  Peggy Chassenet & Manuel Rozoy

Publisher:  Space Cowboys




GENERAL STRATEGY GAMES – 2 Player category

7 Wonders Duel

Designer:  Antoine Bauza & Bruno Cathala

Publisher:  Repos Productions



Designer:  Uwe Rosenberg

Publishers:  Lookout Games



Designer:  Bruno Cathala & Bruno Faidutti

Publishers: Matagot


Star Wars: Rebellion

Designers:  Corey Konieczka

Publisher:  Fantasy Flight Games



Designers:  Helmut Ohley

Publisher:  Lookout Games


For a detailed look at the nominated games, as well as the committee members and their qualifications, please visit the International Gamers Awards website at:

The International Gamers Awards were created to recognize outstanding games and designers, as well as the companies that publish them. The awards are truly international in scope, with committee members representing countries throughout the world. The goal is to give greater exposure for these wonderful games to more and more people and help spread the word of the “wonderful world of gaming” on a global scale.

For more information, contact:
Greg J. Schloesser


[Editor’s Note – While this award is independent in nature, the Opinionated Gamers are big supporters of it.  In fact, 6 of the current IGA jury members are contributors to this blog: Greg Schloesser, Dale Yu, Larry Levy, W. Eric Martin, Andrea Ligabue and Alan How.]

About Dale Yu

Dale Yu is the Editor of the Opinionated Gamers. He can occasionally be found working as a volunteer administrator for BoardGameGeek, and he previously wrote for BoardGame News.
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply